Day 3

When I bought my current camera (Nikon D40) it came with a kit lens (18-55mm) plus a second lens (55-200mm). The second lens quickly became my favorite because I love to take macro or close-up shots. I love to zoom in on a plant to snap a picture of bug or zoom in on my favorite flowers. Here is one of my first photos:

Gerber Daisy 4/2009

I used that lens happily for over a year and then I heard about a new lens that Nikon was releasing soon. It was the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR. Now the exciting part of this long name was the 55-300mm and the VR. The 55-300mm meant that I could really get up close and personal. The VR stands for Vibration Reduction and neither of my lens had that so occasionally (okay, more than occasionally) I would shake and the shot would come out blurry. Well, not anymore! This lens had the latest VR II plus Nikon’s SWM (Silent Wave Motor)! I wanted this lens! Luckily, the price was not too crazy so I was able to get one as soon as they were available. Here’s the first shot I took with my new lens:

Hibiscus macro 10/18/2010

I love this lens! I use it about 90% of the time. Tomorrow I’ll tell you about me and clouds, now I’ll leave you with a few of my favorites macros:

4 thoughts on “Day 3

  1. Hey Candy, you must have written this post for me. 🙂 I love my Nikon, I love flowers and gardening and I love new toys. I’ll be adding this lens to my wish list.

    Love the pics too. Just beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing with us.

    Steve O

    Like

  2. I’m a point and shoot photographer but I love to take pictures of flowers, both domestic and wild. I have no training but hope to take a photography class or two “one day”. I spent part of today at the local botanical garden taking macro shots of day lilies. I look forward to seeing more of your photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

