Day 30

Well, it took 30 days for me to not post before I went to bed – I will post twice today to make up for it.

I subscribe to a number of photography newsletters, etc. Some I really like, some are okay and some I unsubscribed from after a while. I can’t read everything I get – that alone would be a full-time job! What I do like is the diversity of background, perspective, experience, location – you get the picture – of each publication.

Have you ever heard of the Rule of Thirds? I didn’t until a couple of years ago.

Wikipedia says that the rule of thirds “is a guideline that applies to the process of composing visual images such as paintings, photographs, and designs. The guideline proposes that an image should be imagined as divided into nine equal parts by two equally-spaced horizontal lines and two equally-spaced vertical lines, and that important compositional elements should be placed along these lines or their intersections. Proponents of the technique claim that aligning a subject with these points creates more tension, energy and interest in the composition than simply centering the subject would.”

If you search on rule of thirds you will get lots of hits. The best discussion I found is by Darren Rowse, the editor and founder of Digital Photography School. He lives in Melbourne Australia and is also the editor of the ProBlogger Blog Tips.

Read his article at: http://digital-photography-school.com/rule-of-thirds

2 thoughts on “Day 30

Leave a Reply

