What I miss about New England

I have lived in Florida for 19 years now – my anniversary was a couple of weeks ago – and there is at least one thing that I still miss. The changing of the colors of leaves on trees is very different here. The colors up home were vibrant and plentiful. Here they are almost dull and scarce.

I just scanned a photo that I took from the scenic overlook on I-95 near Mystic Seaport. It is one of my favorite pictures. I wish I could remember what year it was but it was long before digital cameras and before I moved to Florida – let’s just say over 20 years ago.

The weekend before Thanksgiving we drove up to Chattahoochee, Florida near the Georgia border. We were having an early Thanksgiving with my friend Sharren’s family. Her brother and his significant other were camping in nearby Three Rivers State Park. I took these photos of the fall trees in the park. They were pretty but nothing compared to New England.

Leave a Reply

