My Eastern Caribbean Cruise

First, I want to tell you how I feel about cruises. I went on my first cruise in 1994 and fell in love – with cruising! Where else can you unpack once but wake up every day or so in a new place? Your meals & snacks are included and someone else makes your bed & cleans your room. But the best thing is your boss (work) cannot contact you! So if you need to relax and get away, I highly recommend taking a cruise.

One other thing about cruises is that they remind me to find the time and resources to do the things I have always wanted to do. My mother always wanted to take a cruise but she never did. Then she died. I often feel like I am cruising for and with my mother. She would have loved cruising!

This cruise was my ninth and more of a “spur of the moment, I have to get away” thing. I found a pretty good deal on an Eastern Caribbean cruise and shared it with my bff. We both liked it because we had done a few Western Caribbean cruises and this was different. The other thing was that it included three days at sea which really suited us for  reading and relaxing. We booked a room with a balcony, which I also highly recommend. We left on April 20th and returned on the 27th. This was our itinerary:

Day Port Arrive Depart
Saturday Port Canaveral (Orlando), FL 4:00 PM
Sunday Nassau, the Bahamas 8:30 AM 2:00 PM
Monday Day at Sea
Tuesday St. Thomas, USVI 11:00 AM 7:00 PM
Wednesday St. Maarten, NA 7:00 AM 5:00 PM
Thursday Day at Sea
Friday Day at Sea
Saturday Port Canaveral (Orlando), FL 8:00 AM

Now, on to the photos …

The first four photos were taken coming into the harbor in Nassau, the Bahamas.
DSC_1404 DSC_1407 DSC_1414 DSC_1416

Both of us had been here before so we decided to stay on the ship and start relaxing! More to come!

Leave a Reply

