Clouds Got in the Way

Can you believe it? I went outside late Friday night – in my nightgown and fuzzy red slippers – to take pictures of the full moon and it was covered by clouds!! So, I thought I would snap a couple of photos of the clouds ’cause they were pretty cool. But my camera said “No!” Okay, it didn’t actually say anything but it wouldn’t let me snap any photos!

Speaking of my camera, I have some bad news. Monday evening I was taking pictures out in my yard and using my monopod for balance. When I went into the house through my garage the monopod caught on the door threshold and the camera fell, I fell, and life as I knew it changed forever! I had been using my favorite lens, of course – the 55-300mm – and it did not survive the fall! I am so bummed!

At least it happened after my photography club’s latest adventure, which was on Saturday, June 7th. We went to Lake Panasoffkee, a small town on a lake in central Florida. The assignment was “Old Florida”. What a great day! We went down some side roads and found lots of interesting sites including a fish camp that is still in use. The reveal is Thursday, June 19th so I can’t show you the 10 photos that I submitted. But I can show you some that didn’t make the cut.

This was one of three identical cottages in a row and I thought it depicted Old Florida, what do you think?
DSC_1236This was so intriguing as we had no idea what it was. Was it an old dog house? Offering box? Letter box?
DSC_1238I took this one from the dock at the fish camp – I loved the view!
DSC_1292There were quite a few old motors hanging around the garage.
DSC_1308This guy was seen from the restaurant where we met for dinner.
DSC_1371

I’ll post the ten that I submitted next weekend, after the reveal.

I have been taking lots of pictures of my flowers this spring. With all the rain we’ve been having they are blooming beautifully. I’ll try to post some over the next couple of days. Here’s one I took yesterday that I really liked. Have a great week!

DSC_1473

7 thoughts on “Clouds Got in the Way

  1. I’ve really been struggling with my (personal) focus. Reading your post made me realize how much I love photography. As soon as I finished reading, I hopped on my bike and rode down the street to take a few pictures of a beautiful peony that I’ve had my eye on for the last several weeks. It’s near spent, but I really didn’t care.

    Like

    • I fulfilled my purpose for today! I’m glad you went and took pictures of the peony. Taking pictures almost always makes me feel good.

      Like

  2. Pingback: An Old Friend Returns | clhPhotography

Leave a Reply

