Two of My Favorite Apps

I have been playing around with a couple of my favorite apps lately – MobileMonet and Brushstroke. If you are not familiar with these apps, try them out because they’re a lot of fun! I’ve had MobileMonet for a few years now and really like it. I found Brushstroke about 4 months ago and enjoy it too. Here’s a description of each app from the iTunes store:

MobileMonet generates a black and white sketch version of any picture you select. It then lets you paint onto the sketch using a soft flow brush tool that applies a painterly version of the original photo. The more you brush, the more paint is applied. It’s deceptively simple, but very creative. Brush in just the areas you want to highlight.

Turn your photos into paintings with Brushstroke. It transforms your photographs … into beautiful paintings in one touch. Edit, sign, and share your work on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Here are a few of my creations – along with their originals.

This one of my orange Gerbera Daisies.
DSC_2242

Here it is after I used MobileMonet.
daisy

These are some wildflowers that I photographed at the beach.
DSC_1939

This is the photo after I used MobileMonet.
photo

These are flowers I photographed in Macon, GA.
DSC_0383r

Here they are after using Brushstroke.
IMG_0207

This is a photograph of my nephew’s puppy.
IMG_0227

This is the same photo after using MobileMonet.
Attachment 9

This is the photo after using Brushstroke.
I liked this one better so I printed it and sent to
my nephew and his bride. They loved it!
IMG_0229

Speaking of the newlyweds, this is one of my
favorite MobileMonet:
IMG_0156

Here’s my original:
DSC_4824

These are apps for the iPhone or iPad. I wish they also had apps for my Mac. I do want to warn you that I tried to use Brushstroke yesterday and it would not cooperate. I don’t know if it was me or the app … or the fact that my iPad was down to 15% left on the battery!

Leave a Reply

