Endings and New Beginnings

Today was the first day of my ‘retirement’ – after over 30 years as a Research Administrator I decided it was time to do what I wanted to do with my life! So, I retired from the University of Florida last week and on September 1, 2015, I am launching my new copyediting/consulting business. Wish me luck!

I will also be making some changes with this website. I will be moving away from wordpress.com to self-hosting, so I can have a little more freedom. I will let you know when that is ready to happen.

In the meantime, it has been hotter than hell down here in Florida! What’s it like where you live? I have been taking my usual cloud photos, but lately I have been playing with my 35mm macro lens.


These are the flowers I received from my department at the reception they had for me.


I don’t know what this flower is, but I like it!


I love the details of these flowers.


Yellow daisies!


This rose is so pretty.


After some rain – a new bud on my senior rose bush.


My lime tree actually produced a lime this year!

A friend let me check out his 85mm lens and that was nice! Since I’m not spending extra money right now, I  bought some extension tubes (<$40) rather than a new lens (>$400). They just arrived today so I have not played with them yet. These are two photos I took with his lens.


4 thoughts on “Endings and New Beginnings

  1. Candy –
    Your roses are so beautiful they don’t look real. I have been enjoying your site and all the flower shots. Don’t know whether I admire your gardening or your photography more. Keep up the good work!!!! Polly

    Like

Leave a Reply

